UC San Diego SearchMenu

Training Faculty

Cancer Training Program

All Cancer TG faculty mentors are members of the Moores UCSD Cancer Center, with appointments in Chemistry & Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, or the School of Medicine. Our program also incorporates faculty from the Ludwig Cancer Institute and the Salk Institute.

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Daniel Donoghue (Program Director)

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
ddonoghue@ucsd.edu  

Fibroblast Growth Factor Receptors (FGFRs) in human cancer; protein ubiquitination in MM and lympohoma.

Jing Yang (Co-Director)

Professor, School of Medicine (Pharmacology)
The Yang Lab
jiyang@ucsd.edu 

Genes and signaling pathways responsible for tumor metastasis; EMT

Michael Burkart

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Burkart Lab
mburkart@ucsd.edu

Natural product synthesis/biosynthesis, chemotherapeutics; spliceosome inhibitors.

David Cheresh

Professor, School of Medicine
The Cheresh Lab
dcheresh@ucsd.edu 

Integrins in vascular biology, angiogenesis and tumor invasion; JAK inhibitors.

Michael David

Professor, Biology
The David Lab
midavid@ucsd.edu

Biological function of Interferons.

Neal Devaraj

Assoc. Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Devaraj Research Group
ndevaraj@ucsd.edu

Biomimetic chemistry, molecular imaging, chemical biology; proapoptotic ceramides.

Jack Dixon

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry/ School of Medicine
The Dixon Lab
jedixon@ucsd.edu

Protein tyrosine phosphatases (PTPs) and their roles in cancer; secreted phosphoproteome.

Gen-Sheng Feng

Professor, School of Medicine
The Feng Lab
gfeng@ucsd.edu

Biomarkers in hepatic cellular carcinoma; hepatocarcinogenesis.

Napoleone Ferrara

Professor, School of Medicine nferrara@ucsd.edu

VEGF in tumor angiogenesis alternative; tumor angiogenesis and metastasis

Seth Field

Professor, School of Medicine
The Field Lab
sjfield@ucsd.edu 

Phosphoinositides in signaling; membrane trafficking,; GOLPH3 as an oncogene.

Frank Furnari

Professor, Ludwig Cancer Institute/School of Medicine
The Furnari Lab
ffurnari@ucsd.edu  

Signaling, pathogenesis and therapeutic resistance of malignant glioma; EGFR mutants in GBM.

William Gerwick

Professor, School of Medicine

The Gerwick Lab
wgerwick@ucsd.edu

Discovery and characterization of new anticancer natural products from marine algae and cyanobacteria.

Gourisankar Ghosh

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry gghosh@ucsd.edu

NF-ΚB structure/function; mechanism of RNA synthesis and processing.

Christopher Glass

Professor, School of Medicine
The Glass Lab
ckg@ucsd.edu 

Regulation of macrophage gene expression in human cancer; PPARs in cancer.

Kun-Liang Guan

Professor, School of Medicine
The Guan Lab
kuguan@ucsd.edu

Phosphorylation, signal transduction, tumor suppressor, mTOR, TSC, Hippo.

Tony Hunter

Professor, Salk Institute/Biology
The Hunter Lab
hunter@salk.edu

Signal transduction pathways in cancer and genomic integrity; discovery and function of P-Tyr; the kinome.

Alexis Komor

Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Komor Lab
akomor@ucsd.edu

DNA damage and repair; base-specific genome editing

Tadeusz Molinski

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry/School of Medicine
tmolinski@ucsd.edu

Novel antiproliferative natural products from marine organisms; synthetic medicinal chemistry of proapoptotic small molecules.

Alexandra Newton

Professor, School of Medicine
The Newton Lab

anewton@ucsd.edu 

Signal transduction pathways in cancer; PKC as tumor suppressor.

Amy Pasquinelli

Professor, Biology
The Pasquinelli Lab

Role of non-coding regulatory RNAs in development and cancer.

Bing Ren

Professor, Ludwig Cancer Institute/School of Medicine
The Ren Lab
biren@ucsd.edu 

Fundamental mechanisms controlling gene expression in mammalian cells; single cell GMB analysis.

Tannishtha Reya

Professor, School of Medicine
The Reya Lab
treya@ucsd.edu 

Signaling pathway regulation in stem cells and in cancer; Musashi in pancreatic cancer.

Michael Rosenfeld

Professor, School of Medicine
mrosenfeld@ucsd.edu

Nuclear mechanisms of gene expression; epigenomic and transcriptional regulation in cancer.

David Schlaepfer

Professor, School of Medicine
dschlaepfer@ucsd.edu

Cell Migration, integrins, invasion, metastasis, signal transduction, tumor, tumor invasion; ovarian cancer.

Dionicio Siegel

Associate Professor, School of Medicine
drsiegel@ucsd.edu 

Organic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, reaction development, natural products.

Roger Sunahara

Professor, School of Medicine
rsunahara@ucsd.edu 

Protein engineering, G protein-coupled receptors and G proteins in cancer

Susan Taylor

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Professor of Pharmacology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
The Taylor Lab

Structure and localization of cAMP-dependent protein kinase; protein kinase structure/function; PKA translocatons in cancer.

Judith Varner

Professor, School of Medicine (Pathology)
jvarner@ucsd.edu 

Tumor microenvironment: tumor inflammation and angiogenesis; immunosuppressive myeloid- derived suppressor cells.

Geoff Wahl

Professor, Salk Institue/Biology
The Wahl Lab
gwahl@ucsd.edu 

Signal transduction pathways; identification of cancer- initiating cells; extrachromosomal oncogene amplification; p53 in cancer

Dong-Er Zhang

Professor, School of Medicine (Pathology)
The Zhang Lab
d7zhang@ucsd.edu 
Molecular basis of cancer development, progression, and treatment; AML1-ETO in human leukemia.

Jin Zhang

Professor, School of Medicine (Pharmacology)
jiz175@ucsd.edu

Spatiotemporal regulation of signal transduction; MAPK and AMPK pathways in tumorigenesis.

Huilin Zhou

Professor, Ludwig Cancer Institute/School of Medicine (CMM)
The Zhou Lab
huzhou@ucsd.edu 
Cellular responses to DNA damage; quantitative phosphoproteomics; checkpoint regulation.